Week 3, The Student Hotel.

After a lovely 2 weeks at home for christmas I returned back to work the week of January. I was super busy this week! Day 1 I proposed my coffee coupon designs to one of the managers, It was nice to receive some feeback. A few changes needed to be made but nothing major. Then I needed to move on to design the bar of soap that accompanied the shampoo bottles. It was important I keep within the style of the company, always using their font and colour scheme. On tuesday we have a weekly marketing meeting to keep each other up to date with projects we are individually working on. Also this day I had a meeting regarding the new plans for the website we are building. I was shown a presentation proposing designs from the outside designers we are closely working with. As an intern, I am so exciting to see all the plans for the hotel in 2015 come to life. As well as a new website, the company is also opening a new building providing meeting spaces for companies. This means I am hopefully going to be able to help work on the branding of the company.

Design work I did this week was small projects such as the soap bar, a new order service form for students to fill out upon arrival, posters to countdown the ski party and posters to be hung around the complex during the party to direct people. All the posters I worked on I created using either Illustrator or photoshop, chris my manager was able to teach me all sorts of new techniques. I have really enjoyed my time at The Student Hotel so far, I feel like I’ve learnt so much in such a small amount of time!

Leave a Reply

