Professional practise, MDF board.

20140211-221621.jpg

20140211-221627.jpg

20140211-221635.jpg

After sending my illustrator file to be cut via the laser cutter on a piece of MDF I painted the surface white. After I was happy with the coverage I used a spray enamal to give it a glossy finish. I did have the text ingraved into the board but because the font was so tiny when the laser cutter cut it burnt the wood making it difficult to read the writing. I was able to fix this problem by painting over the text and then using stick on letters. I actually prefer the aesthetics of the stick on letters. I used a silver letters so it is not the main visual focus point. I want the plotting of the data to be the main focus point which is why I have bought bright vibrant colour wire to plot with.

Now the board is complete I can start plotting data and recording it to make a animation.

 

Leave a Reply

