Professional practise, MDF board.

Image

ImageScreen Shot 2014-02-06 at 13.51.50

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 16.00.05

After doing some rough experiments and deciding on the order I wanted to arrange the question around the A3 page I started to convert my drawings into an illustrator file. To create a drawing to scale I followed a grid. In the centre I put the project title so when I create my animation showing the points being plotted it will inform the audience the subject matter. To cut this file out on MDF, I need to use a laser cutter. To use a laser cutter I need to set the illustrator file to the correct format and settings to tell the machine exactly how I want it cut. Cut lines need to be black and lines an type to be etched need to be red. The laser cutter can only etch single lined fonts therefore it wouldn’t recognise standard Helvetica. As I’m using Helvetica I needed to create an outline for all the text. Once all the settings were correct I sent my file to the laser cutter.

Once I have all the MDF board cut I can then purchase different coloured fuse fire and start to plot my data. Every time I plot a set of data I am going to photograph the board at a 180 degree angle. Eventually I will have a large collection of photographs to put together as a short animation. This is exactly what I set out to do in my project proposal.

Leave a Reply

