Professional Practise, Imelda Marcos.

Imelda Marcos is a Filipino politician born in 1929. However the reason I am researching her within my profession practise is because of the very large shoe collection owning 2,700 pairs. She said “I really had no great love for shoes. I was a working First Lady; I was always in canvas shoes. I did nurture the shoes industry of the Philippines, and so every time there was a shoe fair, I would receive a pair of shoes as a token of gratitude.” Therefor her collection of shoes was no greed but a representation of the hard work and dedication she put into her country. I have interpreted Dr.Martens in the form of identity but shoes to Imelda Marcos had a totally different meaning.

Her collection of shoes have become so well known across the world they have actually been put into a museum to showcase the vast taxonomy. She said “More than anything, this museum will symbolise the spirit and culture of the Filipino people.”

ImageImage

This taxonomy of shoes showed me how shoes have so much more meaning than fashion!

Leave a Reply

